Kai’s Pumpkin Pie Soup

This recipe was inspired by my grandson Kai who doesn’t eat much of anything. I could count on my fingers what he eats. He promised to eat if I made pumpkin soup. I kept trying until I got a version that he would eat. Feel free to adjust spices to your taste, while Kai and I loved it, my daughter said it was “OK”, but then again, she’s not a soup person.

Ingredients:
1/2 tea garlic powder
2 tea onion powder
1 tea ground ginger
1 tea cumin
1/2 tea coriander
2 tea cinnamon
1/2 tea nutmeg
1/4 tea ground clove
1 tea salt
1/2 tea pepper
32 oz chicken stock/broth
2 (15 oz) cans pumpkin puree
1/2 c water
1 cup heavy cream

Instructions:

  1. combine all ingredients except cream
  2. Cover and simmer 10-15 min
  3. Stir in the cream

Servings: 7 (1 cup)          Net Carbs: 7.1

Leave a Reply

